• Login

  • Cart

  • wallet


Home ›   Astrology Blogs ›   Navaratri 2021 : Know the significance of each day

Navaratri 2021 : Know the significance of each day

Myjyotish Expert Updated 15 Apr 2021 11:51 AM IST
Navaratri - Photo : Myjyotish

Navratri is one of the important holy festivals of Hindus. It is celebrated four times per year. Apart from Chaitra and Shardiya Navratri, there are two Gupta Navaratri which are also known as Magh and Ashadh Navratri. During Navratri, different Goddess Durga’s different forms are worshiped for nine days. Every year after Holi Chaitra Navaratri is celebrated. According to the Hindu Panchang, Chaitra Navratri begins on April 13th and ends on 22nd April. In this festival, for long 9 days devotees worship Goddess Durga and the birthday of Lord Ram is celebrated on the last day of the festival.

Need an expert's advise ?


As Chaitra Navaratri is so near, so let’s see the complete nine days calendar with each day’s significance:
  • Day-1 Shailaputri Puja (April 13th, Tuesday)- First day is also known as Pratipada. This day devotees worship Shailputri, the incarnation of Goddess Parvati. Kalash will be established on April 13 on the first day of Chaitra Navratri. The establishment of ‘Kalash’ has special importance in Navratri. According to religious beliefs, the establishment of Kalash during Navratri is auspicious.  Goddess such as Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri which are different forma of Goddess Durga are worshiped during Navratri.
  • Day-2 Brahmachari Puja(April 14th, Wednesday)- On the second day the incarnation of Goddess Parvati that is Goddess Brahmacharini,  is worshipped. She is worshipped for liberation(moksha) and granting peace and prosperity.
  • Day-3 Chandraghanta Puja(April 15th, Thursday)- On the third day, Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped where the devotees wear white clothes as it is believed to be auspicious.
  • Day-4 Kushmanda Puja(April 16th, Friday)- On the fourth day, Goddess Kushmanda known for vegetation on Earth is worshipped. It is believed that she has eight arms and sits on Tiger.
  • Day-5 Skandamata Puja(April 17th, Saturday)- On the fifth day, Goddess Skandamata who is the symbol of strength of mother who can confront any danger for her children is worshipped by devotees. It is believed that the Goddess has four arms and she carries a baby on her one hand and known to ride a ferocious lion.
  • Day-6 Katyani Puja(April 18th , Sunday)- On sixth day of the holy festival the Goddess Katyani who is the incarnation of Goddess Durga is worshipped. She is the Warrior Goddess and is the symbol of courage.
  • Day-7 Kaalaratri Puja(April 19th, Monday)- On seventh day, Goddess Kaalratri who is known to be the ferocious form of Goddess Durga is worshipped. To kill demons Sumbha and Nisumbha, Devi Parvati removed her fair colour according to Hindu belief.
  • Day-8 Mahagauri Puja(April 20th, Tuesday)- On eighth day, Goddess Mahagauri who is the symbol of peace and intelligence, is worshipped.
  • Day-9 Siddhidatri Puja & Ram Navami(21st, Wednesday)- On Navami or on the night, devotees worship Goddess Siddhidatri known to bestow all Siddhis. This day is also celebrated as the birthday of Lord Ram also
  • 100% Authentic
  • Payment Protection
  • Privacy Protection
  • Help & Support

Free Tools


अपनी वेबसाइट पर हम डाटा संग्रह टूल्स, जैसे की कुकीज के माध्यम से आपकी जानकारी एकत्र करते हैं ताकि आपको बेहतर अनुभव प्रदान कर सकें, वेबसाइट के ट्रैफिक का विश्लेषण कर सकें, कॉन्टेंट व्यक्तिगत तरीके से पेश कर सकें और हमारे पार्टनर्स, जैसे की Google, और सोशल मीडिया साइट्स, जैसे की Facebook, के साथ लक्षित विज्ञापन पेश करने के लिए उपयोग कर सकें। साथ ही, अगर आप साइन-अप करते हैं, तो हम आपका ईमेल पता, फोन नंबर और अन्य विवरण पूरी तरह सुरक्षित तरीके से स्टोर करते हैं। आप कुकीज नीति पृष्ठ से अपनी कुकीज हटा सकते है और रजिस्टर्ड यूजर अपने प्रोफाइल पेज से अपना व्यक्तिगत डाटा हटा या एक्सपोर्ट कर सकते हैं। हमारी Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions के बारे में पढ़ें और अपनी सहमति देने के लिए Agree पर क्लिक करें।